St Finbar’s is a Parish Primary School and families are encouraged to take an active part in the life of the Parish community.

St Finbar's School is a vital part of the total parish and as such, aims to be visible and active within the Parish community. Parents are regarded as the first and most important educators of their child in faith. The staff of St Finbar’s school will continue to nurture the faith of the home.

St Finbar’s Religious Education program aims to lead the child to faith in God, by encouraging a personal growing relationship with Jesus Christ and an openness to the Holy Spirit, within a context of the Catholic tradition. The program takes into account the different age levels and stages of maturity of the children.


Religious Education Program

Religious Education is fundamental to the overall development of the child. We aim to build on each child's experience of living the faith, leading them to a deeper understanding of their life in the church, as well as providing opportunities for the students and their families to grow closer to the wider community of the parish. Religious education is not limited to the formal teaching of lessons in the classroom. The religious education curriculum aims to complement the family in developing the whole child in the life of the faith through:

  • celebrating liturgy; 
  • receiving Sacraments;
  • responding to the spirit of God in their lives and in creation;
  • celebrating the mystery and life of the Risen Christ;
  • handing on factual knowledge;
  • understanding the scriptures and the traditions of the Catholic Church.

Sacramental Celebrations

yr 6

While the school instructs the children on the Sacraments, the celebrations occur within the Parish community. Acknowledging the importance of family at this sacred time, the Sacramental Program includes an opportunity for parents and their child to develop a deeper understanding of the Sacrament. Children are prepared for the Sacraments in the following Year levels -

  • Sacrament of Penance (Confession) Year 3
  • Sacrament of Eucharist (Communion) Year 4
  • Sacrament of Confirmation Year 6